Talking in front of creatives? YIKES!

Last week some time I was approached by this guy I know to be one of the speakers at a Photography workshop his hosting. My first thought was “Are you serious?”.

I attended university with this guy, so we studied film together. His work is up to par and I know he has a specific standard, which of course every creative should have. Actually every person in general should have.

When he asked me, I was in awe! I couldn’t believe my eyes. Did someone really just ask me to be a speaker at a workshop where there will most likely be MANY creatives and not just amateur creatives, but actual professionals.

I was honoured, but I declined the offer. Why? Because I feel like I’m not ready. Which is okay, I hope.

Although I’ve been doing photography since 2014 and have learnt quite a bit along the way, I don’t feel like I’m ready to transfer that into a powerpoint presentation at a workshop. Honestly? At this stage I still feel like I haven’t acquired enough knowledge to impact greatly into other creatives.

I can easily do it here and there with fellow togs I have a relationship with, but in front of a creative crowd? No way… A blog is fine haha.

I think perhaps I’m just more practical. It feels easier for me to do something as opposed to explaining how I do it. Sometimes I don’t understand myself how I’m doing things or how I achieve things, I just do.

IMG_8615.CR2.jpg

Perhaps that could be something I can dive into, actually understanding what I’m doing so that I can really explain it in-depth to the next person.

Ps. Here’s a shoot I did last weekend, stay tuned for a behind the scenes post on this:IMG_8834.jpg

Grace and peace.

Leave a comment