Fundraising again? Why?

Why I’m glad you asked! (To myself).

As some of you know, I started doing photography in the year 2014. It’s been more than three years ^_^

The way I managed to get my very first DSLR was through someone, an anonymous person blessing me with money to kickstart the process to me getting a camera. Someone literally just left like more than 1K within an envelope on my mentor’s desk. With my name on it.

Ever since I’ve pretty much sowed quite a bit into my photography. I’ve experimented, I’ve learned, I’ve made mistakes, I’ve tried new things. Things that worked and things that just didn’t at all (I did a blogpost on that).

IMG_1896.jpg

My camera is one of the most basic cams in the land of photography. Although I didn’t let that discourage me. I pushed to learn principles and the functions.

I’m incredibly grateful for the things that I have learnt with my cam. I’m incredibly humbled that I could learn the basics, how things work – I’ll admit, I’m of course still learning. I’m again looking into doing a short course in Photography to learn why things function the way they do, and not just doing it. I want to move over from just doing something myself to the point of teaching why those functions function that way.

I wanna teach to understand, to reason for oneself.

Okay, back to the point – my heart is to upgrade. Right now I’m honestly fighting a faith battle, of believing in the fact that I can and deserve to get the cam I want that costs so much money. It seems ridiculous, but even as a believer you still have those doubts that you constantly have to fight against.

It gets to a point where you have to speak to yourself and reason with yourself, for faith’s case (that I will get the camera, and that God is not holding out on me) instead of doubt’s case (that says ‘Maybe this is God’s Will).

It’s easy to fall into that default understanding isn’t it? Exactly that, it’s easy. There’s no risk, there’s no disappointment, there’s no expectation. It’s simply just … A comfort zone.

But no. Whether I have the camera now or not, I’m choosing to believe that God HAS ALREADY provided it. I just need to be open to where the opportunities lie. And no, that doesn’t mean sitting on my butt and expecting a handout – but working for it. Faith includes action.

Hence the reason for my fundraiser, for my multiple specials, this is what I am doing – and saying yes to other opportunities that will help me get to a point of raising 25K.

This … is a big step for me. But an opportunity to see an amazing story emerge.

IMG_1967.jpg


Behind the scenes Photographer: Mickee-jae van der Heyde

Leave a comment