Daniel, the budding model…

About three weeks ago this young man who is also in my youth approached me and informed me about his interest in modelling.

He was basically telling me about how his trying to get in, but with most agencies you to need to have proper portfolio shoots so that they can basically see you properly on images and also see if cameras like you.

Daniel joined our youth not too long ago, but with all the kids in our youth I see them as family. He was telling me that he really loves my photography and he’d like to do a shoot in the near future.

I then said to him I’ll help him out while the lights in the studio I’m using is still available. I’ve been using my church’s studio and lights that have been borrowed be someone in our church for shoots I did of the staff in June 2016. The owner barely uses the lights hence the reason it stayed there that long. Sadly enough the lights are going to be returned by the end of this week most likely.

Daniel gladly obliged to my offer.

Daniel is currently in school right now, he is about the age of fifteen years old. What’s funny is that during the shoot I had to stand on a tall chair in order to shoot in him! Because of that I had to ask him to constantly shift the lights in their proper positions as me getting off and on the chair the entire time would be time consuming. So he was a pretty awesome lighting assistant!

Daniel is also a track and field athlete, also a rugby player. That reminds me, the first night I met Daniel he was wearing a neck cast because of an injury in rugby (perhaps I should refrain from expressing how furious I was toward rugby after seeing what it does to people). But heck, Daniel is passionate and he went back into rugby as soon as he was fully recovered.

I asked Daniel what it is about modelling that is so appealing to him. Was it the fact that people told him he could try it out? Or is it something he just felt really led to do.

He then told me “Well the thing that drew my attention to modelling was that it was a way for people to express themselves, as well as people telling me that I’m fit for it (physically) and I would do something amazing with it.”

As much as he loves modelling, there is more to Daniel than just his appearance. Yes ladies, there is always more to a guy than just the appearance 😀

I asked Daniel what career he’d like to embark on one day, he replied and said “I have several career pathways that I would like to embark on one day but my main one is Law, becoming a successful attorney … Other careers like professional rugby is always at the back of my head.”

Daniel is such a good kid, honestly. The thing that stood out for me instantly about Daniel was his sensitivity and how respectful he is. His heart is sincerely innocent. Well, on the images he won’t be looking as young as he does in person because the manager his working with wanted him to wear a certain type of clothing that suits his company’s target audience, being the older folk.

I happened to ask him what his mom thought about him going into modelling. He said that it’s a bit confusing as at one moment she’s really happy about it, the next she’s worried. I guess his mom is aware of the dangers that comes with modelling. Modelling too has it’s advantages, but I think that his mom, as all moms, is worried that the industry could have a major impact on him.

I personally think that teenagers can model, provided that there are boundaries and limits in modelling, but more importantly, that there be a firm and very strong foundation from the household and from Daniel.

Daniel, you’re a good kid. Never let anyone or anything change you, unless it’s genuinely for the better. We wouldn’t want your mom to constantly be worried about you! Also, you have so much to offer the world.

I present to you, Daniel Mlundu.

IMG_1656.jpgIMG_1651.jpgIMG_1555.jpgIMG_1573.jpgIMG_1535.jpgIMG_1479.jpg

Leave a comment